Reading Program

We have a wonderful reading program with the English key word learning scheme. The children start this program once they can fully recognize the alphabet, the sound each letter makes, and are able to put at least three letters together to form different words. The reading program is practiced on a one on one basis, to allow for each child’s individual learning abilities and taught at their own pace. This key word series of books has 12 levels.

Each level has 3 books, a, b, & c

Series a
This book slowly introduces new words and repeats them often
throughout the book.

Series b
This book continues with the same words that the child has just learned,
but in a different context.

Series c
This book continues with the same words, while introducing phonics
and encouraging children to try and write out the words.

We have used William Murray’s, a British educationalist key words reading program for over 40 years at our school. It has proven to be an
extremely successful tool in not only teaching our children to read with confidence, but to also gain a sincere love of reading.